Stock Car History Online | NASCAR Hall of Fame Favorites
Stock Car History Online
Stock Car History Online Menu

Visit Smyle Media



When voting for the second class of inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame is conducted, a survey conducted by Stock Car History Online shows that these five legendary drivers should be favorites. Clockwise from top left are Bobby Allison, David Pearson, Cale Yarborough, Lee Petty and Darrell Waltrip. (ISC Archvies/Getty Images)

Stock Car History Online survey shows five
as NASCAR Hall of Fame top selections

By Rick Houston

According to an extensive survey of motorsports industry insiders conducted by Stock Car History Online, five legendary drivers could be considered favorites for the second class of inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

The competitors are David Pearson, Bobby Allison, Cale Yarborough, Darrell Waltrip and Lee Petty. Actual voting for the second class will be conducted and announced next week.

The Stock Car History Online survey was conducted over the last month, and included a panel of 52 industry insiders. Among those who responded were Allison; 2004 Cup champion Kurt Busch; current Nationwide Series points leader and full-time Cup competitor Brad Keselowski; Talladega Superspeedway track president Grant Lynch; Michigan International Speedway president Roger Curtis; Darlington Raceway president Chris Browning; Texas Motor Speedway president Eddie Gossage; famed NASCAR artist Sam Bass; and journalists spanning the print, radio, television and Internet media spectrum.

Pearson received the most backing, picking up votes from 48 of the survey’s 52 respondents. Bobby Allison was next, with 39 selections. Nominees for the National Baseball Hall of Fame must receive support from 75 percent of its voting body to be inducted, and based on this criterion, Pearson and Allison would be this year’s only inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

“This survey shows just how wide open this year’s class could be,” said Rick Houston, editor of Stock Car History Online and host of its associated podcast, Spun Out and Half Turned Over. “In the first class, there were at least three virtually indisputable inductees, and they were Bill France Sr., Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt. This time around, David Pearson could really be seen as the only shoo-in. The actual vote could be very, very interesting, and without a doubt, it will spark a lot of debate.”

Dale Inman, longtime crew chief for Richard Petty, and NASCAR pioneer owner Raymond Parks were just outside the top-five vote getters. Others who received consideration were Davey Allison, Donnie Allison, Sam Ard, Harold Brasington, Red Byron, Richard Childress, Clay Earles, Jake Elder, Richie Evans, Fonty Flock, Tim Flock, Harry Gant, Rick Hendrick, Dr. Bob Hubbard, Jack Ingram, Ned Jarrett, Alan Kulwicki, Banjo Matthews, Morris Metcalfe, Ralph Moody, Bud Moore, Herb Nab, Cotton Owens, Benny Parsons, Maurice Petty, R.J. Reynolds Co., Fireball Roberts, T. Wayne Robertson, SAFER Barrier inventors, Wendell Scott, Ken Squier, Herb Thomas, Curtis Turner, Enoch Staley, Bruton Smith, Joe Weatherly, Hubert Westmoreland, Glen Wood and Leonard Wood.

See Also:


  Stock Car History Online